# **COLORADO EXPANDS SMOKE-FREE LAW**

New protections for workers, residents and visitors



# **PUBLIC PLACES ARE NOW VAPE-FREE**



In 2019, the Colorado Legislature updated the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act (passed in 2006) to expand smoke-free protections.

#### **STARTING JULY 1, 2019:**

- Vaping will not be allowed in indoor public places, including in all bars and restaurants
- People will have to stand at least 25 feet from entrances while smoking or vaping
- All hotel and motel rooms will be smoke and vape-free
- All business will be smoke and vape-free
- Common areas of assisted living facilities will be smoke and vape-free

Nicotine vapor products are dangerous for the user and expose bystanders to secondhand pollution that is not safe to breathe. These can include cancer-causing chemicals, heavy metals and nicotine.<sup>1</sup>



0

## WHERE WILL SMOKING AND VAPING BE ALLOWED?



**Cigar bars,** that meet certain requirements.



Tobacco and vape

retail shops that meet certain requirements.



Marijuana tasting rooms that meet certain requirements can allow smoking and vaping of

marijuana only.



**Buildings that are neither homes nor public places** on farms or ranches earning less than \$500,000 per year in gross income. These coud include barns or other outbuildings.



### A majority of Coloradans (55.8%)

said they had to "put up with" someone smoking around them in public places. Outside the doorway to a building is the most common place Coloradans report being exposed to secondhand smoke.<sup>2</sup>



<sup>2</sup> University of Colorado, Community Epidemiology & Program Evaluation Group (2015). Tobacco Attitudes and Behavior Survey (TABS), Adult Tobacco Use and Exposure Colorado Results. Retrieved from: www.ucdenver.edu/academics/colleges/PublicHealth/community/CEPEG/TABS/Pages/TABS.aspx