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NOTICE OF BOULDER COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH ORDER 2020-06 

QUARANTINE AND ISOLATION ORDER  

 

 
September 4, 2020 
 

 
 

 
All Residents 
890 11th Street 

Boulder, CO 80302 
 

Residents of Pi Phi facility, located at 890 11th Street in Boulder, Colorado: 
 
Boulder County Public Health (BCPH) has determined that there is an outbreak of COVID-19 

among Residents of 890 11th Street in Boulder, Colorado (the “Property”). Residents who have 
tested positive or are experiencing symptoms of COVID-19, including early or mild symptoms, 

such as cough and shortness of breath, are subject to isolation requirements1 as stated in this Order 
and as contained in Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment (CDPHE) Public 
Health Order 20-28. All Residents not subject to isolation, even if you have tested negative, are 

subject to quarantine requirements. 
 

Colorado Revised Statute § 25-1-506(3)(b) authorizes BCPH to take action and issue notices and 
orders to control the spread of communicable diseases, such as COVID-19. This authority 
includes the establishment, maintenance, and enforcement of isolation and quarantine as BCPH 

finds necessary to protect public health and to prevent further spread of diseases. 
 

Individuals infected with COVID-19 may be contagious before their symptoms start until their 
symptoms end. To help stop the spread of disease, anyone who may have been in close contact 
with someone with COVID-19 must be kept separate from people who are healthy; this is called 

“quarantine.” At this time, we believe that symptoms of COVID-19 may appear as few as 2 days 
or as long as 14 days after exposure.  

 
Through September 18, 2020, for those in quarantine, OR for the isolation period if you have 
tested positive or have developed symptoms1, you must comply with the following: 

 
1) Do not leave the Property except as necessary to seek medical care. If you must seek medical 

care, do not use any public transportation or rideshare (e.g. bus, taxi, trains, Uber, Lyft). You may 
use contactless food or other delivery service. Working or studying from your room is permitted.  

 
1 If you test positive or you have developed symptoms of COVID-19, including early or mild symptoms, you must 

remain isolated for at least ten days or until your symptoms have improved and you’ve been fever free for 24 hours 

without medication. In no event shall an isolation period end before ten days. 
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2) Residents in quarantine (but not isolation) may go outside on the Property for fresh air. If you 

go outside, you must wear a face covering at all times, and you must maintain social distancing of 
six feet at all times. You must remain alone on or near the Property and must limit socializing. 

Residents in isolation may use designated balconies, as long as they are alone and are wearing a 
mask. 
 

3) If you leave the Property, you must sign out and sign back in on the Resident log sheet and 
indicate your reason for leaving the Property (e.g. medical services). The Property must preserve 

all property camera footage for the duration of this Order. 
 
4) Limit the use of all common areas. Eat in your room. If you are outside of your room, you 

must wear a face covering unless it is not feasible, such as while showering. 
 

5) Visitors are not permitted unless they are essential. The following are considered essential 
visitors:  Visitors providing licensed medical care, the house director, housekeeping, and cooking 
services. Residents must avoid contact with the house director, housekeeping, and cooking 

services as much as possible. Contactless delivery to outdoor areas is permitted for any reason. 
 

6) If you choose to isolate and quarantine at a nearby location other than 890 11th Street, you 
must notify Boulder County Public Health in writing no later than 8 a.m. on September 5, 2020, 
by sending an email to hlmarshall@bouldercounty.org with the following title in the subject line: 

“890 11th Street Resident – Quarantine Location.” You must also include in the email: your name, 
the address of the place where you intend to quarantine or isolate, your mode of transportation, 

and at what time you plan to depart the Property. Failure to notify BCPH in writing by the above 
date and time will be a violation of this Order. If you choose to quarantine or isolate at another 
location, you must remain at that location until the quarantine or isolation period is over.  

 
7) A negative test does not relieve you of the requirements of this Order. An antibody test does 

not relieve you of the requirements of this Order. You must remain in quarantine throughout the 
entire quarantine period. 
 

8) You must cooperate with BCPH staff. 
 

For all quarantined Residents, we also ask that you monitor your health daily through September 

18, 2020. To do so, you must watch for the following signs and symptoms: 

• Fever. A fever is defined as a temperature of 100.4° F or higher. Please take and record 

your temperature twice daily (i.e. morning and evening). 

• Coughing. 

• Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing. 

• Chills, body aches, sore throat, headache, diarrhea, nausea/vomiting, or runny nose. 
 
For both quarantined and isolated residents, we ask that you also practice the following actions 

that protect others: 

• Clean your hands often. 
o Thoroughly wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds.  

mailto:hlmarshall@bouldercounty.org
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o If soap and water are not available, clean your hands with an alcohol-based hand 
sanitizer containing at least 60% alcohol. When using hand sanitizer, cover all 

surfaces of your hands, and rub them together until they feel dry.  

• Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.  

• If you must come into contact with another person under the permitted reasons above, 
wear a face covering, and maintain six feet of distance. 

• Cover your coughs and sneezes as follows: 
o Cover your mouth and nose with a tissue whenever you cough or sneeze, and then 

throw the tissue away. If a tissue is not available, cough/sneeze into your inner 
elbow or sleeve.  

o Immediately clean your hands as outlined above. 

• Avoid sharing personal household items with others: 
o Do not share any dishes, drinking glasses, cups, eating utensils, towels, or bedding 

with any other people or pets in your home.  
o After using any items you may share with others, wash them thoroughly with soap 

and water.  

• Thoroughly clean surfaces every day: 
o Clean all frequently touched surfaces, such as counters, tabletops, doorknobs, light 

switches, bathroom fixtures, toilets, phones, keyboards, tablets, and bedside tables.  
o Clean any surfaces that may have blood, poop, or body fluids on them.  

o Use a regular household cleaning spray or disinfectant wipe. Follow the 
instructions on the label for correct and safe use.  

 
If you develop any of the symptoms listed above, you must contact your doctor or health care 
facility before going to their office so arrangements can be made to help prevent exposing other 

persons in the waiting room. You must also notify BCPH at 303-413-7523 (M-F, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 
p.m.) or 303-413-7517 (after hours).  

 
If you have a medical emergency and need to call 911, you must notify the dispatch personnel 
that you may have COVID-19. If possible, put on a face covering before the emergency medical 

personnel arrives.  
 
If you develop signs or symptoms during quarantine, BCPH may extend the monitoring timeframe 

if we determine that you are still potentially infectious after September 18, 2020.  
 

If you become ill during the quarantine period: 

• You must isolate. 

• Stay separated from people who are healthy (i.e. isolate) until you have had no fever for at 
least 72 hours without the use of any fever-reducing medicines, AND symptoms have 

improved, AND it has been at least 10 days since symptoms began.  

• Separate yourself from other people: 
o As much as possible, stay in a specific room and away from all other people in 

your home. 
o Use a separate bathroom, if available. If one is not available, disinfect all surfaces 

that you touch before leaving the bathroom, or have a member of the household 
disinfect after waiting as long as possible before entering. Wash hands thoroughly 

afterward. 
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• If possible, wear a face covering when you are outside of your room and before you enter a 
health care provider’s office. 

• If you are not able to wear a face covering, then make sure others are not in the same room 
with you, or that they wear a face covering if they must enter your room. 

 
If you do not develop any symptoms within 14 days after your last known exposure to someone 

with COVID-19, you are no longer at risk from that specific exposure. 
 
WILLFUL FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THIS ORDER CONSTITUTES A CLASS 1 

MISDEMEANOR AND IS SUBJECT TO THE PENALTIES CONTAINED IN 

COLORADO REVISED STATUTES (C.R.S.) § 25-1-516, INCLUDING A FINE OF UP TO 

FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS ($5,000) AND IMPRISONMENT IN THE COUNTY JAIL 

FOR UP TO EIGHTEEN MONTHS (1.5 YEARS). 

 

These penalties are in addition to all other remedies available to BCPH under law, which BCPH 
fully reserves the right to pursue in the event of noncompliance with this Order. Individuals have 

the right to request judicial review of this Order by filing an action with the Bould er County 
District Court pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) § 25-1-515. 
 

If you have questions regarding these requirements, or if you have personal, mental health, 
financial, or other challenges that prevent you from complying with this Notice, please inform 

BCPH immediately so we can help arrange for support. You can reach BCPH at 303-413-7523 
(M-F, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.) or 303-413-7517 (after hours).  
 

Thank you for your commitment to the health and safety of our community. 
 

 
 
        September 4, 2020   

Jeffrey J. Zayach, MS     Date 
Executive Director 

Boulder County Public Health 


