
Required Release Documentation 

COLORADO REVISED STATUTES Section 38-39-102 has set out requirements for releasing a Deed of 
Trust.  Based on these statutes a Release of Deed of Trust may be processed by the public trustee when 
the following documents have been properly presented: 

1. Original Promissory that corresponds with the Deed of Trust being released, including the principal 
amount, dates and number of notes involved.  Per Colorado Revised Statutes we cannot accept a 
copy.  The note must be marked Paid in Full.  Assignments and Powers-of-Attorney should also be 
provided when applicable.  For Partial and/or Full releases with a live note, the original note must be 
presented. 
 

2. Original or Copy of the Deed of Trust being released.  You can obtain a recorded copy from the 
Boulder County Clerk and Recorder, 1750 33rd Street, Suite 201, Boulder, CO 80301 (303) 413-7770. 

 
3. Request for Release of Deed of Trust signed by the legal holder of the Promissory Note. (forms 

available via our website Document’s page) 
 
4. Please make sure the return address is written on the back of the Release of Deed of Trust or in the 

“return to” box so that the clerk and recorder can forward the recorded release to the appropriate 
person. 

 
5. The required fee to release a 1 page Release of Deed of Trust is $28.00 and $5.00 for each additional 

page.  Please make checks payable to the Boulder County Public Trustee. 
 
6. If the original promissory note has been lost, a Lost Instrument Bond must be submitted.  A Lost 

Instrument Bond is a Corporate Surety Bond Issued by a company authorized to issue such bonds in 
the State of Colorado.  Please check with your insurance company for further assistance with this 
matter. 

 
7. If the owner of the evidence of debt is a financial institution as described in C.R.S. 38-39-102(3.5)(a), 

the Public trustee may accept a request for release of Deed of trust without the production of 
Evidence of Debt. 

 
8. If the Holder of the Note is a private party and deceased, a copy of the Death Certificate along with a 

copy of the Will of Personal Representative papers will need to be provided.  The person appointed 
by the Will or Personal Representative papers would be required to sign the Release of Deed of 
Trust form.  However, if “Joint Tenants” is specifically written in the Note, then the other Note 
Holder may sign the Release and only a copy of the Death Certificate is required. 

 
9. Self-addressed stamped envelopes for original documents to be mailed back. 


