

Public Health Board of Health

RESOLUTION 2023-02

A RESOLUTION APPROVING ONSITE WASTEWATER TREATMENT SYSTEM (OWTS) FEES ISSUED BY BOULDER COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH, BOULDER, COLORADO.

WHEREAS, Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) Title 25, Article 10 ("Onsite Wastewater Treatment Systems Act"), Section 107, authorizes a local board of health to set fees for OWS permits to offset the actual indirect and direct costs of the local public health agency's services. C.R.S. §25-10-107 also provides for the assessment of an additional \$23 for each new, repaired, or upgraded OWTS permit issued in Boulder County, of which \$3.00 may be retained by Boulder County to help offset administrative costs, with the remaining \$20.00 to be transmitted to the State of Colorado treasurer for deposit into the State of Colorado Water Quality Control Fund, established in accordance with C.R.S. Section §25-8-502(1)(c); and

WHEREAS, analysis of Boulder County's OWTS permit fee structure indicates that an adjustment of fees, in accordance with C.R.S. Section §25-10-107, would more accurately reflect cost recovery associated with the performance of OWTS activities and issuance of OWTS permits in Boulder County; and

WHEREAS, Boulder County Public Health is committed to serving all residents of Boulder County, regardless of their ability to pay. As such, Boulder County Public Health shall continue to offer a sliding fee scale for the payment of OWTS services and permit fees in Boulder County, with said sliding fee scale calculated in accordance with the residents' ability to pay and U.S. Housing and Urban Development (HUD) criteria for Boulder County low median household income.

Now, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOULDER COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH OF BOULDER COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH, BOULDER, COLORADO, that OWTS permit fees in Boulder County shall hereby be established as follows, effective December 11, 2023:

Type of Permit or Service	Amount
New construction permit	\$3,000
Major repair construction permit with property alteration (3 inspections, consultation, and issuance of use permit)	\$3,000
Major repair construction permit without property alteration (3 inspections and issuance of use permit)	\$1,800
Minor repair construction permit (1 inspection and issuance of use permit)	\$1,200
Property transfer	\$500
Use permit renewal (including operations and maintenance)	\$100
Use permit (with no construction permit; includes site inspection and design review)	\$1000
Minor repair over-the-counter	\$550
Additional inspections	\$250
Additional design revision fee	\$250
Variance	\$500
Permit renewal	\$250
Cleaner license	\$100
Installer license	\$100
Engineer registration fee	\$100
Inspector license	\$100
Hourly rate (e.g. preschedule consultation, etc.)	\$140
Regulation copies	\$0.35/page





Public Health Board of Health

ADOPTED this 11th day of December 2023.

Morgan McMillan, President Boulder County Board of Health