
1/10/2024



Exceptions to Ownership & Occupancy Requirements: 

> If Property is Owned by Trust, Corporate Partnership or
Legal Entity: The ownership requirement may be satisfied
if your property is owned by a trust, a corporate partnership, 
or other legal entity solely for estate planning purposes. 

You and/or your spouse must be the maker of the trust or a 
principal of the corporate partnership or legal entity. If the 
property was not owned by the trust, corporate partnership 
or other legal entity, it would be owned by you and/or your 
spouse. 

or 

> If Confined to Healthcare Facility: The occupancy
requirement may be satisfied even though occupancy has
been interrupted by confinement of the applicant or spouse 
to a nursing home, hospital or assisted living facility. 
While confined to the health care facility, the property 
was/is unoccupied, or it was/is occupied only by the spouse 
of the person confined or by a financial dependent. 

or 

> If Prior Residence was Condemned or Destroyed by a
Natural Disaster: The ownership and occupancy
requirements may be satisfied if the 10-year time frame was 
not met due to the condemnation of the prior residence by a 
governmental entity in an eminent domain proceeding, or if 
the prior residence was destroyed or otherwise rendered 
uninhabitable by a natural disaster. This exception applies 
if you would still live in the prior residence had the event 
not occurred, and you would meet the 10-year ownership 
and occupancy requirements for that property or you would 
qualify as a surviving spouse for that property, and you 
have not been the owner and occupier of any other 
residence since the time of the event. 

or 

> Surviving Spouse Option, Spouse Passed Away Prior to
January 1: If your spouse passed away prior to January 1,
you can still qualify if your spouse met the requirements 
stated in "Short Form Qualifications" on January 1, 2002, 
or on any January 1 thereafter, and you otherwise meet the 
requirements for the surviving spouse option. 

Veterans with a Disability Exemption 

In 2006, voters amended Colorado's Constitution to extend the 
senior exemption to veterans with a disability. Qualifying 
veterans are those who have a 100 percent permanent disability 
rating from the federal Department of Veterans Affairs through 
disability retirement benefits from a service-connected 
disability, who have owned and occupied the property as their 
primary residence since January 1. In 2014, Colorado's 
Legislature extended this exemption to the surviving spouse of a 
disabled veteran who previously received the exemption. 

Applications are available from the web site of the Colorado 
Division of Property Taxation at 
https:// dpt.colorado. gov/property-tax-exemption-for-senior­
citizens-and-veterans-with-a-disability or from your county 
assessor's office. The filing deadline is July 1. 

SHORT FORM INSTRUCTIONS 

Note: For 1 and 3 below, you must include the name and social 
security number of each person who occupies the property as his 
or her primary residence. 

1. Identify the qualifying senior and the property in this
section.

o The applicant's Social Security number is required. For an
explanation, please review 3 below.

o Life estate - It is permissible for ownership to be held in a
life estate. If ownership is held in a life estate, checking the
life estate box will assist the assessor's office in processing
your application.

2. Age, occupancy, and ownership - In order to use the Short
Form, all three questions in this section must be answered
"True". If any questions are "False", please review the Long
Form Qualifications to see if you still qualify.

3. Pursuant to § 39-3-205(2)(a)(I) and (III), and 8-2-128(2),
C.R.S., the name and Social Security number of each individual
who occupies the property must be listed on the application form.
Names and social security numbers are used to ensure that no
individual or married couple applies for the exemption on more than
one property. The statute requires that the information be kept
confidential. If your husband or wife occupies the property, he or
she must be listed on the first line and identified as your spouse.
If more than three additional people occupy the property, you can
attach an additional sheet with their names and social security
numbers.

4. You must sign and date the form. If the form is signed on
behalf of the applicant by a guardian, conservator, or attomey-in­
fact, that person must provide documentation of his or her
authority in the form of a court order or power of attorney. If
there is a contact person other than the applicant, please provide
the name and telephone number of that person.

If you have any questions, please contact your county 
assessor's office. 

Cynthia Braddock
Boulder County Assessor

PO BOX 471 
Boulder, CO 80306-0471 

P:(303)441-3530 
F:(303)441-4996 

W: BoulderCountyAssessor.gov 
E: AssessorSX@BoulderCounty.gov

15-DPT-AR

SVE 001 01/24 


